Previous post Next post

Austrian Economics Research Conference 2024

The Austrian Economics Research Conference is the international, interdisciplinary meeting of the Austrian school, bringing together leading scholars doing research in this vibrant and influential intellectual tradition. 2024 marks the 50th anniversary of the South Royalton Austrian Economics Conference. In honor of this landmark event, there will be sessions and lectures dedicated to evaluating the advances of Austrian economics over the last half century. The conference is hosted by the Mises Institute at its campus in Auburn, Alabama, and is directed by Joseph Salerno, academic vice president of the Mises Institute and professor emeritus of economics at Pace University.

The conference begins on Thursday, March 21 at the Auburn University Hotel with an informal welcome session from 5:30 – 7:30 p.m. central time. This welcome session is limited to paid event attendees and presenters. Only registered attendees are permitted at the conference. No children under 16 years old are allowed. Registration takes place throughout the day on Friday, March 22, at the Mises Institute, 518 W Magnolia Avenue. Sessions begins Friday morning at the Mises Institute and continue throughout the day Friday and Saturday.

Named Lectures:
  • Ralph Raico Memorial Lecture
  • Ludwig von Mises Memorial Lecture
  • Murray N. Rothbard Memorial Lecture
  • Henry Hazlitt Memorial Lecture
  • F. A. Hayek Memorial Lecture

Proposals for individual papers, complete paper sessions or symposia, and interactive workshops are encouraged. Papers should be well developed, but at a stage where they can still benefit from the group's discussion. Preference will be given to recent papers that have not been presented at major conferences. Papers that have already been published are not eligible. All topics are related to Austrian economics, broadly conceived, and related social-science disciplines and business disciplines such as management, strategy, and entrepreneurship are appropriate for the conference. Submitted abstracts should clearly demonstrate the paper's relevancy to Austrian economics and be limited to 250 words. Papers not adhering to these criteria will be rejected without further review. All proposals are peer reviewed by the AERC Program Committee. Proposals from junior faculty and PhD students are especially encouraged. Please submit your proposal here.

Contests and Awards:
  • Lawrence W. Fertig Prize: $1,500 to the author who best advances economic science in the Austrian tradition
  • O.P. Alford III Prize: $1,500 to the author who best advances scholarship in the application of Austrian economic theory or libertarian theory to political, economic, or social issues

***Nominations for Fertig and Alford prizes should be published papers from within the last two years and submitted here. Winners will be announced at the conference during the live broadcast.

  • Kenneth Garschina Graduate Student Essay Contest: $2,500 to the graduate student with the best paper in Austrian economics or libertarian political economy. The paper may be on any topic related to Austrian economics or libertarian political economy. Applicants should submit a CV and a robust abstract of approximately 500 words, and a completed academic research paper of 8,000 words or less (not a dissertation chapter). Submissions should be from current graduate students, not former or current professors. Finalists will receive complimentary conference admission and accommodations, and present their papers in a special session at the conference. The winner must be present to accept the award. If you wish for your Garschina submission to also be considered for presentation in a regular session, please submit a separate abstract here.  
Accommodations and Fees

For a hotel room at the Auburn University Hotel, phone 334-821-8200. Be sure to mention the Mises Institute event for the special rate of $169 per night, plus tax (for a single or double room). Parking is available at the AU Hotel to guests at a rate of $10 per night self-parking or $15 per night valet parking. 

For Faculty and Presenters, the early discounted registration fee is $285 (after March 1 the registration fee is $335.) The registration fee for Member Observers not presenting a paper is $395 per person. Become a Member for $100 and register today at the Member price (call 800-636-4737 to check if your Membership is current). Registration covers all sessions, two receptions, two lunches, coffee breaks, and daily shuttles between the AU Hotel and the Institute. Member Observers are requested to refrain from questions or comments during sessions, but discussion is welcome during meals and breaks. Registration fees cannot be disaggregated.

Email Felicia Jones with questions, [email protected].

Most attendees fly into the Atlanta airport, which is an hour and 45 minutes north of Auburn. Atlanta is in the eastern time zone and Auburn is an hour behind in the central time zone. 

Shuttle between Atlanta airport and Auburn

Shuttle between Atlanta, Birmingham, Montgomery, or Columbus, GA airports and Auburn

Driving directions to Auburn

Full story here Are you the author?
Previous post See more for 6b.) Next post
Tags: ,

Permanent link to this article:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.