Previous post Next post

Switzerland adds 11 more nations to its compulsory quarantine list

© Swisshippo |

From 20 August 2020, people entering Switzerland from Andorra, Belgium, Monaco and 50 other nations must quarantine for 10 days.

Switzerland’s Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH) recently added 11 places to its existing list of regions where there is an increased risk of SARS-CoV-2 infection. Among them are Albania, Andorra, Gibraltar, Monaco, Belgium and Spain’s Balearic Islands – mainland Spain was added on 8 August 2020.

From 20 August 2020, anyone who has spent time in these countries over the 14 days prior to arriving in Switzerland must quarantine.

The 11 additional places are:

  • Albania
  • Andorra
  • Aruba
  • Belgium
  • Belize
  • Faroe Islands
  • Gibraltar
  • Guam
  • Monaco
  • Namibia
  • The Balearic Islands

Five countries were removed from the list: Equatorial Guinea, São Tomé and Príncipe, Saudi Arabia, Serbia and Singapore.

There are currently 53 countries/regions on the list of states with an increased risk of infection – click here for the list of compulsory quarantine nations, which is regularly updated.

If you arrive in Switzerland and have spent time in a one of these places in the past 14 days you must go to your home or to other suitable accommodation immediately on arrival and stay there for 10 days and not go out. No exception is made for children or anyone with a negative Covid-19 test. The Swiss authorities say that a negative test does not rule out infection.

In addition, you must report your arrival to the relevant cantonal authority within 2 days and follow any instructions they give you. A government infoline operates from 6am to 11pm: +41 58 464 44 88.

The legal requirement to quarantine is set out in Switzerland’s epidemic act. Fines for non-compliance can be as high as CHF 10,000.

fact sheet sets out what people must do during quarantine. You must stay at home or in suitable accommodation for 10 days, avoid all contact with other people and observe the rules on hygiene. Even if your PCR test for the virus is negative, you still have to spend 10 days in quarantine.

Employers must continue to pay you your salary during quarantine if they sent you to a country on the list and/or if your work can be done from home.

Those who do not continue to receive their salary from their employer can apply for compensation for Covid-related loss of earnings if they have to go into quarantine through no fault of their own. This is the case if, at the time of departure, their destination had not been announced as an area with an increased risk of infection. For further information on compensation click here: GermanFrenchItalian.

Full story here Are you the author?
About Le News
Le News
The newspaper Le News is a free, quality, local English language newspaper launched on 31 October 2013. Le News fills a gap in local Swiss media for the numerous English-speakers living and visiting Switzerland. In late January 2015 we decided to put our print medium on hold and focus on our digital media presence.
Previous post See more for 3) Swiss Markets and News Next post
Tags: ,,,,,,,

Permanent link to this article:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.